UK Coach Rally winners celebrated in Blackpool

Go G VIP Coaches won this year’s Coach of the Year award at the UK Coach Rally with its new Van Hool TDX21 Altano configured as an English Cricket Board team coach. The rally, held at Blackpool on 6-7 April also saw Russell Cooper, Coopers Tours, take the Coach Driver of the Year Trophy and Adam Mills, Yorkshire Rose Holidays win the Midi Driver of the Year.

Team of the year was Coachpoint who showed their 1998 Setra 250, while Howard Snaith Coaches won the Alan Goodwin Trophy, which is presented to the highest placed coach operator in all classes, with a six-year-old B9R Panther. The runner-up in the Coach Driver of the Year competition was Darryn Hughes, Classic Coaches, Co Down.

The Driver of the Year competition was carried out over the two days, including a road section on the Saturday and a timed course on Blackpool front on the Sunday. The driver’s course was also used for the regular Director’s Challenge which was won by someone better known in the bus sector, East Yorkshire Coaches’ Martijn Gilbert, also Go North East managing director, driving a Volvo B8R Plaxton Elite.

The Rally saw the first outing for the new interurban Plaxton Leopard with one of the eight coaches ordered by Lothiancountry on display in the trade area.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *