UK Bus Driver of the Year 2016 crowned in annual Blackpool event

The UK Bus Driver of the Year 2016 is Craig Lockyer of National Express Bus who beat off 114 finalists in the event which took place in Blackpool last weekend (4 September).

Lockyer, based at National Express West Midlands’ Wolverhampton garage, received a £1,500 award from ROSCO and £1,000 from Unite the Union as well as being awarded the John Boxall Medallion as national champion. A further £1,000 was awarded to Craig as highest-placed finalist from the National Express Group, and as best competitor from a depot in England he received a further £100 accompanied by the Giles Fearnley Trophy. 

The runner-up was Jonathan Welch from First Aberdeen - who was Bus Driver of the Year in 2014 - receiving a cheque for £1,500 plus a further £1,000 as highest-placed finalist from a FirstGroup company and £100 as best competitor from a depot in Scotland, winning the Joe Mackie Shield. 

In third place was Colin Henderson from First Scotland East winning £1,000 plus a further £500 for being second-highest-placed finalist from a FirstGroup company. Adam Ksiazek from First Aberdeen finished in overall fourth place, winning £750 and Darren Marshall of Morebus was fifth, picking-up a £500 prize and a further £1,000 with the Go-Ahead Trophy as best-placed finalist from that group.